

The University of the Arctic





What is the University of the Arctic?

- ➤ International consortium of Northernoriented post-secondary institutions
- ➤ Grew out of the Circumpolar Universities Association founded here at Lakehead University in 1989
- Creation of the Arctic Council
- Purpose is to improve the well-being of Northern and Indigenous communities through improving access to postsecondary educational resources in a costeffective manner



This is done primarily through the sharing of resources and experiences

Key Members of UArctic

Finland:

Saami Education Centre, Inari University of Oulu, Oulu Oulu Polytechnic, Oulu University of Lapland, Rovaniemi Kemi-Tornio Polytechnic, Kemi-Rovaniemi Polytechnic, Rovaniemi

Sweden:

Luleå University, Luleå Umeå University, Umeå

USA:

University of Alaska Fairbanks, Fairbanks, Alaska

Russia:

Sakha State University of Russia, Yakutsk, Sakha Republic Murmansk Humanities Institute, Murmansk

Iceland:

University of Akureyri, Akureyri

Norway:

Bodø Regional University, Bodø Saami University College, Kautokeino Finnmark University College, Alta University of Tromsø, Tromsø

Canada:

Nunavut Arctic College,
Aurora College
Yukon College
Lakehead University
University of Northern British
Columbia
Université Laval
University of Saskatchewan
University of Manitoba
University of Alberta

University of Greenland



- Programs include:
 - > The Bachelor of Circumpolar Studies
 - > Field Schools
 - > Ph.D. Network
 - > Research Outreach
 - > Theme Networks
 - > The Circumpolar Mobility Program
 - north2north
 - NorthTrex

