

1st Workshop of the ESF MOForum on Peer Review

10-11 March 2008 NWO, The Hague, Netherlands



List of participants

Chairs and Speakers

Valérie Allspach-Kiechel Senior Administrator European Science Foundation

Erik Arnold Managing Director Technopolis Ltd

Frank Bingen *Programme Supervisor* Fonds National de la Recherche (FNR)

Tomaž Boh Slovenian Research Agency

Andrew Bourne Head of Science Operations Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC)

John Caughie Art and Humanities Research Council (AHRC)

Alan Cross DG Research European Commission

Ozlem Ekici The Scientific and Technological Research Council of Turkey (TÜBITAK)

Brian Francis Director Centre for Applied Statistics Lancaster University

Nina Kancewicz-Hoffman Senior Science Officer European Science Foundation Anna Ledin Secretary General The Swedish Research Council for Environment, Agricultural Sciences and Spatial Planning

Cas Maessen Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO)

Marja Makarow Chief Executive European Science Foundation

John Marks Director of Science and Strategy European Science Foundation

Riitta Mustonen Vice President Research Academy of Finland

Elod Nemerkenyi Assistant of International Affairs Hungarian Scientific Research Fund

Peter Nijkamp *President* Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO)

Douglas Niven Senior Business and Quality Manager Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC)

Toni Scarpa Director Center for Scientific Review National Institutes of Health - USA Paul C. Schuddeboom Nano Science ERA NET

Josef Syka President The Czech Science Foundation

Bernardus Tubbing *DG Research* European Commission

Raimo Väyrynen Chair, ESF Science Advisory Board

Valerio Vercesi Coordinator of the INFN Evaluation Working Group Istittuto Nazionale Fisica Nucleare (INFN)

Patricia Vogel Senior policy manager Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO)

Fiona Q. Wood Centre for Higher Education and Management Policy University of New England Australia

Participants

Romano Baardman Netherlands Organisation for Health Research and Development (ZONMW)

Sonja Bisset Biotechnolody and Biological Sciences Research Council (BBSRC)

Sofie Björling Swedish Research Council

Berry J. Bonenkamp Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO)

Margreet Bransma Netherlands Organisation for Health Research and Development (ZONMW)

Amanda Brewster Wellcome Trust

Frances Burstow Associate Director, Strategic Research, Grants and Organisation Group Economic and Social Science Research Council (ESRC)

Charles Buys Vice President Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO) Wonsuk Chang Korea Research Foundation

Jean-Marc Chourot *Responsable Programme PNRA* Agence Nationale de la Recherche (ANR)

Brian Collier Science Foundation Ireland

David Cox Medical Research Council (MRC)

Eili Ervelä-Myréen *Programme Manager* NORFACE ERA NET

Mikael Fogelholm Academy of Finland

Sonja Ftacnikova Slovak Research and Development Agency

Hilde Grindvik Nielsen Adviser The Research Council of Norway

Aare Ignat Estonian Science Foundation

Lena Johansson de Château The Swedish Research Council

Inger Jonsson Research Secretary Swedish Council for Working Life and Social Research

Rein Küttner Head of Division, Informatics and Engineering Estonian Academy of Sciences

Andrea Lapiccirella Director Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche

Marta Lazarowicz-Kowalik Foundation for Polish Science

Victoria Ley Director Ministry of Science and Education

Pero Lucin National Science Foundation, Higher Education and Technological Development of the Republic of Croatia

Saskia Matheussen Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO)

Manfred Niessen

Head of Humanities and Social Sciences Division Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)

Rudolf Novak Head of Department Fonds zur Förderung der wissenschaftlichen Forschung (FWF)

Dong Hoon Oh Project Manager OECD

Viliam Pichler Associate Professor Technical University Zvolen

Bernhard Plunger Head of Foreign Relations Austrian Academy of Sciences

Petr Ráb Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic

Kai Rankenburg EUROCORES Coordinator European Science Foundation

Jose J. Sanchez Serrano Head Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Cientificas (CSIC)

Maria do Rosário Santos de Sá Couto Costa Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia

Vibeke Schroder Research Adviser Danish National Research Foundation

Helene Schruff Head of the Division Max-Planck-Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Wissenschaften

Eiríkur Smári Sigurdarson RANNÍS - The Icelandic Centre for Research

Vlatko Silobrcic Croatian Academy of Sciences and Arts

Harald H. Simonsen The Research Council of Norway Karen Skovgaard-Petersen Danish Research Council for the Humanities

Anne Sofield *Programme Manager (Research)* Art and Humanities Research Council (AHRC)

Jack Spaapen Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences

Maria Starborg Research Officer Swedish Research Council

Marek Switonski Council for Science, Ministry of Science and Higher Education

Angheluta Vadineanu Vice-President National University Research Council (NURC)

Jacco van den Heuvel Policy Officer Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW)

Monique van Donzel Scientific Secretary for the Humanities and Social Sciences European Science Foundation

Vladas Vansevicius Lithuanian State Science and Studies Foundation

Risto Vilkko *Science Adviser* Research Council for Culture and Society

Albena Vutsova Chief Secretary National Science Fund of Bulgaria

Oonagh Ward *Research Management Unit* Health Research Board

Hans Willems Research Foundation - Flanders (FWO)

Je-Chang Woo Secretary General Korea Research Foundation