News, Announcements & Press Releases

28. October 2014 10:54

SRG-MED visit neuroscientist Professor May-Britt Moser, 2014 Nobel Prize laureate in Physiology or Medicine.

The SRG-MED and ESF staff members had the privilege to be hosted by Professor May-Britt Moser in Trondheim on 17 October 2014 and to be guided by her in their visit of the animal facilities of the Kavli Institute for Systems Neuroscience / Centre for Neural Computation (

From left to right: Dr Øyvind Melien, Norwegian Directorate of Health, Oslo (NO), Professor Giovanni Pacini, CNR Neuroscience Institute, Padova (IT), Emeritus Professor Martin Röllinghoff, University of Erlangen- Nuremberg (DE), Professor May-Britt Moser, Director of the Centre for Neural Computation, NTNU, Trondheim (NO) and 2014 co-Nobel Prize winner in Physiology or Medicine, Emeritus Professor Roger Bouillon, Catholic University of Leuven (BE), Dr Maria Manuela Nogueira, ESF Senior Science Officer, Strasbourg (FR), Professor Dr Kirsten Steinhausen, ESF consultant, University of Furtwangen (DE)

Professor Stig Slørdahl, Chair of the ESF Scientific Review Group for the Biomedical Sciences (SRG-MED), is the Dean of the Faculty of Medicine of the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) in Trondheim (NO) who employs the 2014 co-Nobel Prize winners in Physiology or Medicine, the neuroscientists Professors May-Britt and Edvard Moser. Since 6 October 2014, they share the Nobel Prize award with Professor John O’Keefe (University College London, UK) “for their discoveries of cells that constitute a positioning system in the brain”.