News, Announcements & Press Releases

24. November 2011 11:00

The European Science Foundation elects Pär Omling as new President at its Assembly; Martin Hynes appointed as new Chief Executive

The European Science Foundation (ESF) has today announced the names of its new President and Chief Executive, who will take up office on 1 January 2012. The ESF Assembly, attended by representatives of ESF Member Organisations, took place on 24 November in Strasbourg, France elected Pär Omling as new President and appointed Martin Hynes as new Chief Executive of ESF.

Martin Hynes FIEI, MBA, Executive Director of The Irish Research Council for Science, Engineering and Technology (IRCSET), will take over from Professor Marja Makarow, who has served as Chief Executive for the last four years.  With a strong international profile and reputation, Hynes is experienced in policy formulation and has an excellent record of innovatively executing resulting policy decisions. He has been appointed for a three-year term.

Pär Omling, former Director General of the Swedish Research Council, will replace Ian Halliday who has served in the role of ESF President for the past six years. Omling has been deeply involved in national and international research policy for the last 20 years. In 2009, Omling played a key role in the Lund Declaration, which today is viewed as one of the cornerstones in the formation of the EU framework programmes on research and innovation.

Both Hynes and Omling have long associations with the ESF, with previous roles as Chair of the Finance and Audit Committee and as a member of the Physical and Engineering Sciences (PEN (formerly PESC)) Standing Committee, respectively. Both have also been members of the ESF Governing Council.

Commenting on being elected President of the ESF, Pär Omling said: “The world is rapidly changing, and so is the European research landscape. It is an exciting time to become President of the European Science Foundation and I’m looking forward to embracing this new challenge.”

Newly appointed ESF Chief Executive Martin Hynes commented: “I am delighted and honoured to be selected as the Chief Executive of such an esteemed body.  The values held by the European Science Foundation are very close to my heart, from research excellence and openness, to ethical awareness and a pan-European approach. I look forward to working closely with our members, staff and Science Europe to develop future plans for the organisation. ”

The European Science Foundation is an association of 78 Member Organisations devoted to scientific research across 30 European countries. The Assembly is the main ESF decision-making body and meets once a year. All Member Organisations are represented. The Assembly elects the President and Vice Presidents and appoints the Chief Executive, as well as ratifying ESF accounts, admitting new members and approving and/or amending the Statute. The Assembly also provides a venue for debate and interaction between Member Organisations.

The ESF President is elected every three years with an overarching responsibility to chair the Assembly and the Governing Council. The ESF Chief Executive is  appointed to manage the office of the Foundation and is responsible to the Governing Council and work closely with the ESF President and Vice Presidents.

About ESF

The European Science Foundation (ESF) is an independent, non-governmental organisation that promotes collaboration in scientific research, funding of research and science policy across Europe. Its members are 78 national funding and research-performing organisations and learned societies from 30 countries.

Media contact:

Ms. Shira TabachnikoffE-Mail

Tel +33 (0)3 88 76 71 32 | Cell +33 (0)6 56174049