EURYI: European Young Investigator Awards 2006

This October, at the 3rd Annual EURYI Award Ceremony, twenty-five researchers will receive awards which will enable them to create research teams in Europe to focus on cutting-edge science research.


The 2006 EURYI Winners

The list of the 2006 Awardees includes researchers who will be based in 11 countries – Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Here is the list of 2006 winners, in alphabetical order, and indicating the country of the supporting research institution. Click the name of each winner to see detailed information about each researcher’s award-winning project:

  • Dr. André Aleman (The Netherlands) - Insight in psychosis: new insights from cognitive neuropsychiatry.

  • Dr. Déborah Bourc’his (France) - Genomic and functional analysis of genomic imprinting.

  • Dr. Örjan Christer Carlborg (Sweden) - Understanding the Biology of multifactorial traits –unique animal models and novel bioinformatics tools lead the way.

  • Dr. Massimiliano Cavallini (Italy) - Dynamics of molecules on organic transistors.

  • Dr. Ove Christiansen (Denmark) - Quantum Molecular Dynamics.

  • Dr. Mirjam T.C. Ernestus (The Netherlands) - Acoustic reduction in European languages.

  • Dr. Pascal Fries (The Netherlands) - Mechanisms of neuronal interactions and their cognitive top-down control.

  • Dr. Francesca Funiciello (Italy) - Convergent margins and seismogenesis: defining the risk of great earthquakes by using statistical data and modelling.

  • Dr. Frédéric Geissmann (France) - Differentiation and functions of cells of the mononuclear phagocyte system.

  • Dr. Nicolas Gompel (France) - An integrative analysis of the mechanisms of phenotypic novelty: form and behaviour evolution in flies.

  • Dr. Jesper Grodal (Denmark) - Homotopical group theory – the mathematics of symmetry and deformation.

  • Dr. Klaus Hallatschek (Germany) - Zonal flows.

  • Dr. Joost G.J. Hoenderop (The Netherlands) - Regulation of the epithelial Ca2+ channel by extracellular calciotropic factors.

  • Dr. Frank Keppler (Germany) - Origin, fate and impact of biospheric climate-relevant trace gases during global change.

  • Dr. Dieter Chichung Lie (Germany) - Regulation of quiescence in adult hippocampal neural stem cells.

  • Dr. Nicolas Mano (France) - A miniature membrane-less biofuel cell operating under physiological conditions.

  • Dr. Paloma Mas (Spain) - Understanding the biological clock in Arabidopsis thaliana: global approaches to study mechanisms of clock function.

  • Dr. Juha Kalevi Pakkala (Finland) - Birth and transmission of a Holy Tradition.

  • Dr. Christos Panagopoulos (Greece ) - Emergent complexity in electronically frustrated correlated electron systems.

  • Dr. Ullrich R.R. Pfeiffer (Germany) - Terahertz imaging arrays using metamaterial integrated components.

  • Dr. Anna Karin Qvarnström (Sweden) - Speciation and evolution in hybrid zones.

  • Dr. Arno Rauschenbeutel (France) - Glass Fibre Quantum Optics.

  • Dr. Gábor Tamás (Hungary) - Novel roles for identified GABAergic neurons in networks of the cerebral cortex.

  • Dr. Manuel Torrilhon (Switzerland) - Multi-physics scientific computing.

  • Dr. Willem van Westrenen (The Netherlands) - Full Moon: novel
    constraints on the origin and evolution of the lunar interior and the early Earth.

Media Enquiries

European Science FoundationStrasbourgFrance

Tel: +33 (0)3 88 76 71 74
Fax: +33 (0)3 88 76 71 80
                                                                                                     Top of the page