Scientific Review Group for the Biomedical Sciences

The Scientific Review Group for the Biomedical Sciences is chaired by Professor Stig Arild Slørdahl, Professor of Medicine and Dean of the Faculty of Medicine at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) in Trondheim, Norway.



  • Professor Isabel Varela-Nieto
    Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Cientificas (CSIC), Spain
  • Professor Giovanni Pacini
    Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche (CNR), Italy
  • Professor Roger Bouillon
    Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
  • Professor Martin Röllinghoff
    Friedrich-Alexander Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany
  • Professor Josef Syka
    Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic / Czech Science Foundation (GAČR), Czech Republic

The ESF Rules of Procedure stipulate that the Scientific Review Group (SRG):

  • will provide specialist advice and input on a wide range of ESF actions and currently running instruments by taking view of the scientific area for which it has responsibility;
  • can be asked to assist in the evaluations and assessments and other special reviews requested by Member Organisations, approved by the Governing Council or the Chief Executive;
  • will, wherever appropriate, work with other SRGs and Expert Boards and Committees in promoting multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary activities. To this end, the SRG shall ensure that there are good links and exchanges of information between it and the appropriate groups;
  • will respond to requests for actions initiated by the ESF Assembly, Governing Council or Chief Executive;
  • will use peer review as a key component of the decision-making process.

The Scientific Review Group replaces the Standing Committee for the European Medical Research Councils (MED (formerly EMRC)) which existed from 1971 to 2012. It will be in activity until the end of 2015.