Scientific Review Group for the Humanities

The Scientific Review Group for the Humanities is chaired by Professor Milena Žic Fuchs, Chair of Linguistics in the English Department of the University of Zagreb and Full Member of the Croatian Academy of Sciences and Arts.



  • Professor Peter Funke
    Westfälische Wilhelms - Universität, Germany
  • Professor Claudine Moulin
    Universität Trier, Germany
  • Professor Riccardo Pozzo
    Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche (CNR), Italy
  • Professor Matti Sintonen
    University of Helsinki, Finland

The ESF Rules of Procedure stipulate that the Scientific Review Group (SRG):

  • will provide specialist advice and input on a wide range of ESF actions and currently running instruments by taking view of the scientific area for which it has responsibility;
  • can be asked to assist in the evaluations and assessments and other special reviews requested by Member Organisations, approved by the Governing Council or the Chief Executive;
  • will, wherever appropriate, work with other SRGs and Expert Boards and Committees in promoting multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary activities. To this end, the SRG shall ensure that there are good links and exchanges of information between it and the appropriate groups;
  • will respond to requests for actions initiated by the ESF Assembly, Governing Council or Chief Executive;
  • will use peer review as a key component of the decision making process.

The Scientific Review Group replaces the Standing Committee for the Humanities (HUM (formerly SCH)) which existed from 1974 to 2012. It will be in activity until the end of 2015.