Scientific Review Group

The Scientific Review Group for Life, Earth and Environmental Sciences is chaired by Professor Reinhart Ceulemans,University of Antwerpen, Belgium.


  • Professor Isabel Ambar
    University of Lisbon - Portugal
  • Professor Nigel L. Brown
    Univeristy of Edinburgh - United Kingdom
  • Dr. Sonja Lojen
    Jo┼żef Stefan Institute - Slovenia
  • Professor Tanel Tenson
    University of Tartu - Estonia
  • Professor Wolfgang  Weisser
    Technical University of Munich - Germany

The ESF Rules of Procedure stipulate that the Scientific Review Group (SRG):

  • will provide specialist advice and input on a wide range of ESF actions and currently running instruments by taking view of the scientific area for which it has responsibility;
  • can be asked to assist in the evaluations and assessments and other special reviews requested by Member Organisations, approved by the Governing Council or the Chief Executive;
  • will, wherever appropriate, work with other SRGs and Expert Boards and Committees in promoting multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary activities. To this end, the SRG shall ensure that there are good links and exchanges of information between it and the appropriate groups;
  • will respond to requests for actions initiated by the ESF Assembly, Governing Council or Chief Executive;
  • will use peer review as a key component of the decision making process.

The Scientific Review Group replaced the Standing Committee for Life, Earth and Environmental Sciences (LEE (formerly LESC)), which existed from 1995 to 2012. It will be in activity until the end of 2015.